Watch CBSN Live

Oscars 2014: The complete list of nominees

2014 Academy Award nominees announced 08:01


Nominations for the 2014 Oscars were announced Thursday morning by actor Chris Hemsworth and Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President Cheryl Boone Isaacs.

"Gravity" and "American Hustle" lead the contenders with 10 nominations each, including best picture.

Winners for the 86th annual Academy Awards will be announced March 2 on ABC in a ceremony hosted by Ellen DeGeneres.

Downloadable ballot: Click on the link to download a pdf file of the complete list of nominations for your office pool or Oscar party.

Best Picture

Best Actor

Best Actress

Meryl Streep, "August: Osage County"

Best Supporting Actor

Sally Hawkins, "Blue Jasmine" 
Jennifer Lawrence, "American Hustle"
Lupita Nyong'o, "12 Years a Slave"
Julia Roberts, "August: Osage County"
June Squibb, "Nebraska" 

Best Director

"American Hustle," David O. Russell
"Gravity," Alfonso Cuaron
"Nebraska," Alexander Payne 
"12 Years a Slave," Steve McQueen
"The Wolf of Wall Street," Martin Scorsese

Best Adapted Screenplay

"Before Midnight," Written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke
"Captain Phillips," Screenplay by Billy Ray
"Philomena,” Screenplay by Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope
"12 Years a Slave," Screenplay by John Ridley
"The Wolf of Wall Street," Screenplay by Terence Winter

Best Original Screenplay

"American Hustle," Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell
"Blue Jasmine," Written by Woody Allen
"Dallas Buyers Club," Written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack
"Her," Written by Spike Jonze
"Nebraska," Written by Bob Nelson

Best Animated Feature Film 

"The Croods"
"Despicable Me 2"
"Ernest & Celestine"
"The Wind Rises"

Achievement in Cinematography

"The Grandmaster," Philippe Le Sourd
"Gravity," Emmanuel Lubezki
"Inside Llewyn Davis," Bruno Delbonnel
"Nebraska," Phedon Papamichae
"Prisoners," Roger A. Deakins

Achievement in Costume Design

"American Hustle," Michael Wilkinson
"The Grandmaster," William Chang Suk Ping
"The Great Gatsby," Catherine Martin
"The Invisible Woman," Michael O’Connor
"12 Years a Slave," Patricia Norris

Best Documentary Feature  

"The Act of Killing," Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
"Cutie and the Boxer," Zachary Heinzerling and Lydia Dean Pilcher
"Dirty Wars," Richard Rowley and Jeremy Scahill
"The Square," Jehane Noujaim and Karim Amer
"20 Feet from Stardom," Nominees to be determined

Best Documentary Short Subject

"CaveDigger," Jeffrey Karoff
"Facing Fear," Jason Cohen
"Karama Has No Walls," Sara Ishaq
"The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life," Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed
"Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall," Edgar Barens

Achievement in Film Editing

"American Hustle," Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarte
"Captain Phillips," Christopher Rouse
"Dallas Buyers Club," John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa
"Gravity," Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger
"12 Years a Slave," Joe Walker

Best Foreign Language Film

"The Broken Circle Breakdown" - Belgium
"The Great Beauty" - Italy
"The Hunt" - Denmark
"The Missing Picture" - Cambodia  
"Omar" - Palestine

Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling

"Dallas Buyers Club," Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews
"Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa," Stephen Prouty
"The Lone Ranger," Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Best Original Score

"The Book Thief" - John Williams
"Gravity" - Steven Price
"Her" - William Butler and Owen Pallett
"Philomena" - Alexandre Desplat
"Saving Mr. Banks" - Thomas Newman

Best Original Song

"Alone Yet Not Alone" from "Alone Yet Not Alone": Music by Bruce Broughton; Lyric by Dennis Spiegel
"Happy" from "Despicable Me 2": Music and Lyric by Pharrell Williams
"Let It Go" from "Frozen": Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
"The Moon Song" from "Her": Music by Karen O; Lyric by Karen O and Spike Jonze
"Ordinary Love" from "Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom": Music by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen; Lyric by Paul Hewson

Achievement in Production Design

"American Hustle," Production Design: Judy Becker; Set Decoration: Heather Loeffler
"Gravity," Production Design: Andy Nicholson; Set Decoration: Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard
"The Great Gatsby," Production Design: Catherine Martin; Set Decoration: Beverley Dunn
"Her," Production Design: K.K. Barrett; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena
"12 Years a Slave," Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Alice Baker

Best Animated Short Film

"Feral," Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden
"Get a Horse!" Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim
"Mr. Hublot," Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares
"Possessions," Shuhei Morita
"Room on the Broom," Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

Best Live Action Short Film

"Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn't Me)," Esteban Crespo
"Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)," Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras
"Helium," Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson
"Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)," Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari
"The Voorman Problem," Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

Achievement in Sound Editing

"All Is Lost," Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns
"Captain Phillips," Oliver Tarney
"Gravity," Glenn Freemantle
"The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug," Brent Burge
"Lone Survivor," Wylie Stateman

Achievement in Sound Mixing

"Captain Phillips," Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro
"Gravity," Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro
"The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug," Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson
"Inside Llewyn Davis," Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland
"Lone Survivor," Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow

Achievement in Visual Effects

"Gravity," Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould
"The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug," Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds
"Iron Man 3," Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick
"The Lone Ranger," Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier
"Star Trek Into Darkness," Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.