Watch CBS News

Gridlock Alert Days: New York City Department of Transportation announces when to expect the worst traffic across the city

NYC releases list of 2022's remaining Gridlock Alert Days
NYC releases list of 2022's remaining Gridlock Alert Days 00:26

NEW YORK -- New York City's Department of Transportation has released a list of 19 Gridlock Alert Days for the rest of 2022.

Gridlock Alert Days are when the worst congestion and slow-moving traffic are expected.

The next alert day is Monday, Sept. 19 for the U.N. General Assembly, but some street closures start at 10 p.m. tonight. There will be extensive street closures and delays across Manhattan until the end of the week. 

The full list of Gridlock Alert Days is as follows:

  • Monday, September 19, 2022
  • Tuesday, September 20, 2022
  • Wednesday, September 21, 2022
  • Thursday, September 22, 2022
  • Friday, September 23, 2022
  • Wednesday, November 16, 2022
  • Thursday, November 17, 2022
  • Tuesday, November 22, 2022
  • Wednesday, November 23, 2022
  • Wednesday, November 30, 2022
  • Thursday, December 1, 2022
  • Friday, December 2, 2022
  • Tuesday, December 6, 2022
  • Wednesday, December 7, 2022
  • Thursday, December 8, 2022
  • Friday, December 9, 2022
  • Tuesday, December 13, 2022
  • Wednesday, December 14, 2022
  • Thursday, December 15, 2022

For more information, visit nyc.gov/gridlockalert.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.