Watch CBS News

Obama Signs Emergency Declaration For States Of New York, New Jersey

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) -- As the Hurricane Sandy Frankenstorm approached, President Barack Obama issued a federal emergency declaration for the State of New York and New Jersey.

The declaration means the state and local governments can receive federal assistance for the costs of evacuation, sheltering and other measures.

"Once again, I thank the President for his quick response to my request for a federal emergency declaration which will apply to the entire State of New York," Gov. Andrew Cuomo said in a news release. "We appreciate the federal government's support as we continue to prepare for Hurricane Sandy."

With the declaration, the Federal Emergency Management Agency may identify, mobilize and provide equipment and resources as needed.

Later Sunday night, Obama also signed a disaster declaration for New Jersey, as earlier requested by Gov. Chris Christie.

Obama has also signed emergency declarations for Maryland, Massachusetts and the District of Columbia.

Share your comments below...

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.