Watch CBS News

Hurricane Sandy Evacuation Orders And Shelter Locations In Tri-State Area


Mandatory evacuations in effect for residents living in Zone A which includes:

• Coney Island, Manhattan Beach and Red Hook and other areas along the East River in Brooklyn;
• All of the Rockaways, as well as Hamilton Beach and Broad Channel in Queens;
• Almost all of the coastline of Staten Island;
• City Island, a small patch of Throgg's Neck, and another patch of the South Bronx in the Bronx;
• Battery Park City and stretches of the West Side waterfront and of the Lower East Side and East Village in Manhattan.

LINK: Map Of Zone A

LINK: List Of Shelters

LINK: NYC's Severe Weather Center

LINK: NYC Evacuation Zone Finder


Babylon - Mandatory Evacuation Category 1 areas and trailer parks
Huntington - Voluntary Evacuation Category 1 areas
Islip - Mandatory Evacuation Category 1 areas, trailer parks and Fire Island
Smithtown - No Mandatory Evacuation, voluntary on Long Beach Road
Brookhaven (North Shore) - Mandatory Evacuation Category 1 and Category 2 areas
Brookhaven (South Shore) - Mandatory Evacuation Category 1 Areas, Voluntary Category 2 areas
Riverhead - Mandatory Evacuation Category 1 and trailer parks
South Hampton - Mandatory Evacuation Category 1, trailer parks and Dune Road
Southold - Mandatory Evacuation Category 1
East Hampton - Voluntary Evacuation Category 1
Shelter Island - Voluntary Evacuation Category 1

LINK: List Of Shelters

LINK: Map Of Shelters

Mandatory Evacuation of all residents living in a flood or storm surge zone. This area is defined as south of Sunrise Highway, from the Queens line to Rockville Centre and South of Merrick Road, from Rockville Centre to the Nassau-Suffolk border.

This Mandatory Evacuation also includes the residents on the north shore of Nassau County that reside in low-lying areas and storm surge zones. Low-lying are defined as 15 feet above sea-level or less.

LINK: List Of Shelters


No mandatory evacuations at this time, but people in flood zones should consider voluntary evacuation

LINK: List Of Shelters


The following areas have been requested to evacuate due to the impending high winds, rain and tidal storm surge:
• Flood prone areas in the Village of Piermont
• Ba Mar Trailer Park, Grassy Point, and Beach Road in Stony Point.



A mandatory evacuation of the barrier islands is in effect that includes Brigantine, Atlantic City, Ventnor, Margate and Longport.

LINK: List Of Shelters


Mandatory evacuation for residents of Barrier Islands and Bayside Communities.

LINK: List Of Shelters


Evacuation is strongly recommended for county residents along the Delaware Bay, Greenwich, Fairfield, South West of Route 553 in Lawrence, Downe and Commercial Townships, as well as residents that live South West of Route 47 in Maurice River Township, South of Bricksboro.

LINK: List Of Shelters


A mandatory evacuation is in effect in Hoboken for ground floor apartments.

A mandatory evacuation is in effect in parts of Jersey City for residents ground floor apartments.

LINK: List Of Shelters


LINK: List Of Shelters


Branford: Mandatory evacuations ordered for all coastal areas and areas along Branford River.

Bridgeport: Mandatory evacuations for certain areas. Also, a mandatory evacuation for the University of Bridgeport.

Darien: Mandatory evacuations of all coastal areas, including Noroton Bay, Tokeneke, Contentment Island, Five Mile River Road, Holly Pond, Delafield Island and Tokeneke in the vicinity of the Five Mile River.

East Haven: Mandatory evacuations for all areas within two blocks of shoreline.

Fairfield: Mandatory evacuations south of the Oldfield/Old Post Road.

Groton: Mandatory evacuations.

Greenwich: Mandatory evacuations for areas 1, 2, and 3 as identified on the town's Sea, Lake and Overland Surges. These are generally low-lying areas such as Mill Pond in Cos Cob, areas near the coast of the Long Island Sound and Byram River.

Guilford: Mandatory evacuations for flood-prone regions.

Madison: Partial evacuations.

Milford: Mandatory evacuations for low-lying areas.

New Haven: Evacuations for flood-prone regions (Morris Cove south of Girard Street, Front Street, Haven Street in Fair Haven, between South Water Street and the highway in City Point) beginning at 8:30 a.m. Monday. There is a recommended evacuation for low-lying areas of Blake Street.

New London: Partial evacuations.

Old Lyme: Mandatory evacuations.

Old Saybrook: Partial evacuations.

Stamford: Mandatory evacuations for certain areas.

Waterford: Voluntary evacuations recommended for all low-lying areas including Millstone, Ridgewood Park, Jordan Cove, Pleasure Beach, Smiths Cove, Niantic River, Golden Spur, and Oil Mill.

West Haven: Mandatory evacuations for everyone along Ocean Avenue and Captain Thomas on the beach side, everyone south of Park Street and everyone south of White Street from Peck to First Avenue.

LINKS: Shelter Info | Hurricane Sandy News And Info



View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.