Watch CBS News

Ida's Aftermath: Major Disaster Declarations Extended To Essex, Hudson, Mercer, Union Counties In New Jersey

NEWARK, N.J. (CBSNewYork) -- Much-needed relief is coming to more people in New Jersey to rebuild from Ida.

The White House on Friday extended major disaster declarations to Essex, Hudson, Mercer and Union counties.

The declaration allows home and business owners to receive low-cost loans for damages not covered by insurance.

Grants for temporary shelter and home repairs will also be made available.

Six other New Jersey counties already had major disaster relief declared.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.