Watch CBS News

Yankees, Mets Unveil 2018 Schedules

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) -- The Yankees and Mets released their 2018 schedules Tuesday.

The Yankees, who are in the thick of a playoff race this year, will open next season with a four-game series at Toronto on March 29-April 1. The Bronx Bombers' home opener will be April 2 against the Tampa Bay Rays.

Some other highlights on the Yankees' schedule:

• They'll face the Red Sox at Fenway Park on April 10-12, Aug. 2-5 and Sept. 28-30 to close out the regular season. The Sox will visit Yankee Stadium on May 8-10, June 28-July 1 and Sept. 18-20.

• The Yankees will face a murderer's row of a schedule to begin May -- at Houston, home vs. Cleveland, home vs. the Red Sox. All three teams currently lead their divisions.

MORE: Keidel: Yankees Refuse To Wilt, And The Schedule Really Likes Them

• Instead of splitting a four-game Subway Series between Yankee Stadium and Citi Field, as they've done the past two years, the Bombers will visit the Mets for a three game series June 8-10 and then host their crosstown rivals July 20-22.

• The Bombers will host the Washington Nationals for a two-game series June 12-13, a showdown that is sure to shine a spotlight on the future of Bryce Harper, a free agent after the 2018 season whom many Yankees fans would love to see in pinstripes.

• The Yankees will play at home on Mother's Day (A's), Father's Day (Rays) and the Fourth of July (Braves).

To view the full schedule, visit

As for the Mets, who are 63-80 this season, they'll open their schedule March 29 at Citi Field against the Cardinals and play their first six games at home.

Other highlights:

• They'll visit the NL East champion Nationals on April 5-8, July 31-Aug. 1 and Sept. 20-23, and Daniel Murphy & Company will play at Citi Field on April 16-18, July 13-15 and Aug. 24-26.

MORE: Schwei's Mets Notes: Attempting To Finish A Lost Season Strong

• The Mets close out the season with a three-game home series against the Marlins.

To view the Mets' full schedule, visit

In a departure from recent years, all 30 teams will be in action on the first day of the season, March 29.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.