Watch CBS News

Trump Administration Halts U.S. Commercial Air Travel To 9 Cities In Cuba

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – The Trump Administration is grounding most flights to Cuba, which includes flights out of New York's major airports.

The Department of Transportation issued a notice Friday suspending U.S. commercial flights to nine destinations within Cuba.

Flights to Havana will still be allowed.

Secretary of State Mike Pompeo says the action was taken to prevent the Castro regime from profiting off of U.S. air travel.

JetBlue and American Airlines say they will comply with the decision.

The changes go into effect on Dec 10.


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.