Watch CBS News

Talking And Driving Will Now Cost You 2 Points

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) -- Talking and driving has been illegal in New York State for nearly a decade but starting Wednesday motorists face a more severe punishment for doing so.

One driver tells 1010 WINS' Steve Sandberg that he still talks on his handheld cell phone behind the wheel


WCBS 880's Sophia Hall reports Suffolk County cops have already started cracking down harder on drivers


Now, in addition to a ticket and $100 fine, a violation will cost you two points on your license. Points can raise auto insurance costs and lead to the suspension of a driver's license if a person gets 11 points within 18 months.

A two-point penalty has already been in place in New York for over a year for texting while driving. The DMV decided to add the points-punishment for talking in hopes of reducing the number of distracted driving incidents.

The department said distracted drivers contribute to a fifth of all accidents statewide.

New York was the first state to ban driving and talking on handheld cell phones in November 2001.

Related: NYC Lawmaker Proposes Ban On Talking and Walking

Do you think a harsher penalty will deter drivers from using their cell phones? Let us know below

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.