Watch CBS News

De Blasio Announces Star-Studded Inaugural Committee

NEW YORK (AP) -- New York City Mayor-elect Bill de Blasio's Inaugural Committee is star-studded.

De Blasio is announcing Saturday that Harry Belafonte, Sarah Jessica Parker, Steve Buscemi, Susan Sarandon, Rose Perez and Russell Simmons are among the celebrities who are helping organize the festivities surrounding the inauguration.

Gabrielle Fialkoff was named the inauguration chairwoman. Fialkoff, the president of a jewelry company, served as finance chairwoman for de Blasio's successful runs for public advocate and mayor.

More than 50 supporters will serve on the committee that will plan celebrations in all five of the city's boroughs.

De Blasio, a Democrat, will take office Jan. 1.

He is expected to name the first members of his administration within the next week.

De Blasio is succeeding Mayor Michael Bloomberg, who is leaving office after 12 years.

(Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.