Watch CBS News

Baseball Hall Of Fame Cuts Election Eligibility From 15 Years To 10

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. (CBSNewYork/AP) -- The Baseball Hall of Fame has reduced the number of years a player can remain eligible to be voted in by the writers to 10 years from 15, giving Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens less time to be considered.

The Hall of Fame announced the changes Saturday. They are effective immediately and will be reflected in 2015 Hall of Fame voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Bonds and Clemens, record-breaking stars whose careers have been tainted by allegations of performance-enhancing drug use, have been on the ballot the last two years.

The BBWAA will allow three players-- Don Mattingly, Lee Smith and Alan Trammell -- who have been on the ballot between 10-15 years to complete a 15-year stay.

Cooperstown is expected to be packed with tens of thousands of people for Sunday's induction ceremony featuring Joe Torre, Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, Frank Thomas, Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa.

On WFAN radio last week, Torre said being inducted with fellow managers Cox and La Russa "couldn't be any sweeter."

You Might Also Be Interested In:

(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.