Watch CBS News

A Look Back At The 5 Rookies Of The Year In Mets History

By Daniel Friedman
» More Columns

In honor of Jacob deGrom being named the National League Rookie of the Year, we take a look at the five Mets who've claimed that title throughout the franchise's history:

Tom Seaver, 1967

Tom Seaver
Tom Seaver (Photo by Jared Wickerham/Getty Images)

What else can you say about "Tom Terrific" that his nickname doesn't already tell you? He's the best pitcher in franchise history and one of the best baseball's ever seen.

Jon Matlack, 1972

Jon Matlack
Jon Matlack (credit: Mike McCann/WFAN)

He's probably one of the most unsung heroes to play for the Mets. He was the NL Rookie of the Year in '72 and was a crucial factor in the team's World Series appearance the following season. Matlack was a three-time All-Star and was the MVP of the 1975 Midsummer Classic.

Darryl Strawberry, 1983

Darryl Strawberry
Darryl Strawberry (Photo by Nick Laham/Getty Images)

He was a superstar until injuries and a slew of off-the-field issues derailed his career.

Dwight Gooden, 1984

Dwight Gooden
Dwight Gooden (Getty Images)

See above.

Jacob deGrom, 2014

Jacob deGrom
Jacob deGrom #48 of the New York Mets throws a pitch against the Los Angeles Dodgers at Dodger Stadium on August 23, 2014 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Getty Images)

He really turned heads in his rookie season and should be a big part of the Mets' pitching rotation for years to come. That rotation also includes Matt Harvey and Zack Wheeler, by the way (and probably Noah Syndergaard).

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.