Watch CBSN Live

New York Film Critics Circle Awards winners announced

The 2015 New York Film Critics' Circle Award winners were announced Wednesday, with "Carol" -- starring Rooney Mara and Cate Blanchett -- taking some big categories, including Best Picture, Best Director and Best Screenplay.

See the list of winners below:

Best Film: "Carol"

Best Actress: Saoirse Ronan, "Brooklyn"

Best Actor: Michael Keaton, "Spotlight"

Best Screenplay: Phyllis Nagy, "Carol"

Best Director: Todd Haynes, "Carol"

Best Supporting Actor: Mark Rylance, "Bridge Of Spies"

Best Supporting Actress: Kristen Stewart, "Clouds Of Sils Maria"

Best Cinematography: Edward Lachman, "Carol"

Best Animated Film: "Inside Out"

Best Foreign Language Film: "Timbuktu"

Best Non-fiction Film: "In Jackson Heights"

Best First Film: "Son Of Saul"

Special Award: Posthumous Award honoring William Becker and Janus Films

Last year's big winner was Richard Linklater's "Boyhood," starring Patricia Arquette and Ethan Hawke.

The New York Film Critics Circle, founded in 1935, includes critics from newspapers, magazines and online sites.

The awards will be handed out in New York in January.