Watch CBS News

President Biden approves Minnesota disaster declaration from May storm

WCCO Digital Headlines: Afternoon of July 8, 2022
WCCO Digital Headlines: Afternoon of July 8, 2022 01:45

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- President Joe Biden ordered federal assistance to areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding in Minnesota from May 8-13.

Federal assistance is to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts.

"While the state continues to help in every way we can, we need the federal government's help," Gov. Tim Walz said. "I'm grateful that more assistance is on its way, and I'm committed to continuing the work to rebuild."

Thunderstorms pushed through Stearns and Morrison counties on May 8, creating winds of 60 mph, and over the next few days successive rounds of tornadoes touched down across Minnesota. The estimated damage from the storms is nearly $11 million. 

23 Minnesota counties will receive federal funding:

  • Aitkin
  • Big Stone
  • Cass
  • Chippewa
  • Cottonwood
  • Douglas
  • Grant
  • Kandiyohi
  • Lac qui Parle
  • Lincoln
  • Morrison
  • Nobles
  • Pope
  • Redwood
  • Renville
  • Stearns
  • Stevens
  • Swift
  • Todd
  • Traverse
  • Wadena
  • Wilkin
  • Yellow Medicine

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state. Walz also said he asked for assistance for two weather-related events in recent weeks, hoping to address the ongoing flooding in northern Minnesota and an extension for the timeline to request support for the tornadoes that hit western Minnesota on Memorial Day. 

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.