Watch CBS News

Betty McCollum Claims Victory In Minnesota's 4th District

Minnesota Politics 101_1400x1400

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) -- Democrat Betty McCollum won the state's 4th Congressional District seat, defeating Greg Republican Ryan, according to projections from the Associated Press.

Rep. McCollum has represented the district for the past 18 years, and faced off against the same two challengers in 2016.

WEB EXTRA: Full 2018 Midterm Election Results

McCollum beat Ryan and Susan Pendergast Sindt, who ran with the Legal Marijuana Now party, with almost 58 percent of the vote in 2016. The district went for Democrat Hillary Clinton in by a margin of 30.6 points.

McCollum won 2018's Democratic primary with 91 percent of the vote. Ryan didn't face a challenger in the Republican primary.

The 4th District spans St. Paul and its suburbs to the north and west.


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.