Watch CBS News

Rockefeller Foundation Puts Pittsburgh On Their 'Resilient Cities' List

NEW YORK (KDKA/AP) - Thirty-five cities from Accra, Ghana, to Wellington, New Zealand, are being recognized by the New York-based Rockefeller Foundation for their ideas on physical, social and economic resilience.

The foundation announced the latest winners of its 100 Resilient Cities contest in conjunction with a summit Wednesday in Singapore. The foundation has committed $100 million to the effort, with the idea that the 100 eventual winners will become models for other cities.

Chosen from nearly 350 applications spanning over 90 countries, this year's winners are as far north as Montreal and as far south as Sydney.

The United States is most represented, with six cities in the continental U.S. and one in Puerto Rico. Pittsburgh was chosen among the U.S. cities.

There are also multiple selections in China and India.

The foundation will finance a "chief resilience officer" position for each city to address challenges that could range from increasing threats of flooding to growing strains on health systems. The cities also will get technical help planning and implementing their strategies.

"Cities are learning that by building resilience, not only will they be better prepared for the bad times, but also life is better in the good times, especially for the poor and vulnerable," Rockefeller Foundation President Judith Rodin said in a statement.

About 30 other cities were named last year, and more applications will be taken next year.

Here's the full list:

  • Accra, Ghana
  • Amman, Jordan
  • Arusha, Tanzania
  • Athens, Greece
  • Barcelona, Spain
  • Belgrade, Serbia
  • Bangalore, India
  • Boston
  • Cali, Colombia
  • Chennai, India
  • Chicago
  • Dallas
  • Deyang, China
  • Enugu, Nigeria
  • Huangshi, China
  • Juarez, Mexico
  • Kigali, Rwanda
  • Lisbon, Portugal
  • London, England
  • Milan
  • Montreal
  • Paris
  • Phnom Penh, Cambodia
  • Pittsburgh
  • San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Santa Fe, Argentina
  • Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
  • Santiago (Metropolitan Region), Chile
  • Singapore
  • St. Louis
  • Sydney
  • Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Toyama, Japan
  • Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Wellington, New Zealand

Click here for more information from the Rockefeller Foundation.

You May Also Be Interested In These Latest News Stories

Join The Conversation On The KDKA Facebook Page
Stay Up To Date, Follow KDKA On Twitter

(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.