Watch CBSN Live

How to watch the Republican National Convention

GOP convention preview
GOP convention preview 07:10

Elected officials, delegates and reporters head to Cleveland this weekend for the 2016 Republican National Convention in Cleveland, Ohio.

CBS News journalists will broadcast from or near the floor of the convention hall as well as outside Quicken Loans Arena, also known as "The Q." The venue is home to NBA team the Cleveland Cavaliers as well as other sports teams.

During all four nights of the convention -- from Monday to Thursday -- CBS News will air primetime coverage from 10 p.m. to 11 p.m. on CBS.

Scott Pelley will anchor a special one-hour edition of CBS Evening News on Sunday from 6 p.m. to 7 p.m. and will air regular 30-minute editions from 6:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. throughout the rest of the convention.

  • Watch CBSN throughout the day for updates and at 7 p.m. ET for continuous coverage each night of the Republican National Convention

CBS News' political team will contribute to the coverage, including CBS News Correspondents Nancy Cordes, Major Garrett, Julianna Goldman, Jeff Pegues and DeMarco Morgan; and Josh Elliott, Vladimir Duthiers and Elaine Quijano of CBSN, which is CBS News' 24/7 digital news service offered on connected TVs, desktop and mobile devices.

Co-hosts Charlie Rose, Gayle King and Norah O'Donnell anchor "CBS This Morning" live from the floor of the convention hall, in Cleveland on July 18-21.

John Dickerson launches CBS News' coverage from both cities with special, live editions of "Face the Nation," broadcast from the floor of the convention hall in Cleveland on July 17.

CBS News Contributor Bob Schieffer, CBS News Contributor and Wall Street Journal columnist Peggy Noonan, CBS News Political Analyst and Slate magazine's chief political correspondent Jamelle Bouie, and CBS News Contributor and chief national correspondent for The New York Times Magazine Mark Leibovich, will also appear on CBS News broadcasts and platforms and CBSN's live streaming coverage.

The Republican National Committee released a partial list of convention speakers Thursday, which includes Speaker Paul Ryan, Rudy Giuliani, Ben Carson, Ted Cruz, Newt Gingrich, Chris Christie and Scott Walker.

There are also a number of top Republicans who have opted to not attend the convention. That list includes people like Presidents George H.W. Bush and George W. Bush as well as the GOP's last two presidential nominees, Mitt Romney and John McCain.

→What: Republican National Convention

CBSN election coverage begins at 7 p.m. ET

→ Where: Cleveland, Ohio

→ When: CBS This Morning will broadcast live each day from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. and CBS Evening News will air from 6:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. ET live each night of the convention

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.