Watch CBSN Live

“Big Bang Theory,” Neil deGrasse Tyson honored by Stephen Hawking

Stephen Hawking is clearly a fan of "Big Bang Theory."

The famed physicist tapped the long-running CBS sitcom as a recipient of this year's Stephen Hawking Science Medal for science communication. 

Allison Janney and Chuck Lorre talk CBS' new primetime lineup

The series, set to launch its 11th season this fall, was awarded the medal for films and entertainment. Medals were also awarded to Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson for science writing and electronic music pioneer Jean-Michel Jarre for music and arts.

Tyson, the director of the Hayden Planetarium in New York City, is host of "Star Talk" on the National Geographic Channel and the author of numerous books, including the recent bestseller "Astrophysics for People in a Hurry."

The medals were handed out Tuesday at the Starmus festival in Trondheim, Norway. The Hawking medal "recognizes the merit of popular science on an international level," according the festival.

Both Hawking and Tyson have made guest appearances on "the Big Bang Theory," as have other notable names in the scientific community like Elon Musk and Bill Nye

The executive producers of the show, which is about to start its 11th season, are Chuck Lorre, Steven Molaro and Bill Prady. 

A spin-off, "Young Sheldon," debuts later this year on CBS.