Watch CBS News

WCCO-TV Takes Home 12 Emmy Awards

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) – WCCO-TV was awarded 12 Emmys at the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS), Upper Midwest Regional Emmy Awards gala held Saturday at the State Theater in Minneapolis.

Among the awards, WCCO won for best day time newscast for WCCO-TV 4 News This Morning and best evening newscast for WCCO-TV 4 News at 5 pm.

Frank Vascellaro and Chris Shaffer won Emmys for best on-camera talent for news and weather respectively. Frank praised his co-workers.

"It's an honor to win this award, especially when you consider the talent of the other nominees. I'm able to do my job because I'm surrounded by bright and committed people who strive to do their best every day," Frank said. "Of course, I'm extraordinarily comfortable on the set with my co-anchor and love working with her every day."

Chris Shaffer said he was honored, especially considering that his competition included some pals.

"Ian and Jonathan are both buddies of mine…we were all pulling for each other. Doing the job I love, at the station I adore in my hometown is a dream come true. Winning an Emmy for it is like getting a corner piece of cake with extra frosting…its sweet," Chris said.

WCCO-TV is proud of the 12 Emmy Awards for outstanding work in broadcasting by NATAS:

Newscast - Daytime - Markets 1-20
WCCO 4 News This Morning

Newscast - Evening - Markets 1-20
WCCO-TV 5pm Newscast
Michael J Caputa, News Director
Aaron Beckman, Producer

On-Camera Talent - Anchor - News
Frank Vascellaro

On-Camera Talent - Anchor - Weather

Chris Shaffer

Continuing Coverage - Within 24 Hours

Minot Floods
Jamie Yuccas, Reporter

Feature News Report - Light Single Story/Series (*THREE RECIPIENTS*)
Hot Dog Man
Rachel Slavik, Reporter

Feature News Report - Serious Single Story/Series (*THREE RECIPIENTS*)
No Longer Silent
Lindsey Seavert, Reporter

Sleeping in Cars
Bill Hudson, Reporter

Weather-Single Story/Segment
Good Question:The Snowman Murders
Jason DeRusha, Reporter

Promotion: Single Spot

Always 60
Casey Kespohl, Creative Director

Promotion - Image
AM Campaign
Casey Kespohl, Creative Director

Promotion - Program
Ellen Launch
Scott Wooldridge, Executive Producer

The Emmy Award is presented to honor excellence in broadcasting. This year nearly 940 entries from roughly 100 different companies were submitted. The Upper Midwest Chapter covers Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa and western Wisconsin.

WCCO-TV is part of the CBS Television Stations, a division of CBS Corporation.


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.