Watch CBS News

Obama Grants Disaster Declarations For 25 Texas Counties

Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

NORTH TEXAS (CBSDFW.COM) - After December severe weather and tornadoes, President Barack Obama has granted Disaster Declarations for 25 Texas counties.

It's been exactly two weeks since Governor Greg Abbott requested the Presidential Disaster Declarations. In  press release statement he said, "I want to thank the President and FEMA for granting my request for a disaster declaration in these 25 Texas counties. We will continue to work with our FEMA partners to rebuild these counties and ensure that they come back stronger than ever."

The President granted the request for public assistance for affected state and local governments in the following counties:

  • Bailey
  • Castro
  • Childress
  • Cochran
  • Dallas
  • Deaf Smith
  • Dickens
  • Ellis
  • Hall
  • Hardeman
  • Harrison
  • Henderson
  • Hopkins
  • Kaufman
  • Kent
  • King
  • Lamb
  • Lubbock
  • Navarro
  • Parmer
  • Rains
  • Red River
  • Rockwall
  • Titus
  • Van Zandt

Governor Abbott also requested individual or residential assistance for people living in Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Franklin, Rockwall and Van Zandt Counties. That request remains under review.

(©2016 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.