Watch CBS News

Former Pittsburgh Steelers TE Heath Miller Among 14 1st-Year Candidates For Pro Football Hall Of Fame

(KDKA/AP) -- Heath Miller is among 14 first-year eligible candidates for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The former Steelers tight end spent 11 seasons with the black and gold, catching 592 passes for 6,569 yards and 45 scores. He played 168 games and made two Pro Bowls. He retired after the 2015 season.

Joining Miller on the ballot as first-year eligible players are receivers Calvin Johnson, Wes Welker and Roddy White; quarterback Peyton Manning; running back Steven Jackson; offensive linemen D'Brickashaw Ferguson and Logan Mankins; defensive linemen Jared Allen, Justin Tuck and Kevin Williams; linebacker Jerod Mayo; and defensive backs Charles Tillman and Charles Woodson.

In all, there are 130 nominees for five modern-era spots. The roster of nominees consists of 65 offensive players, 49 defensive players and 16 special teams players. Former Steelers Hines Ward, Alan Faneca, Gary Anderson, Joey Porter, Rohn Stark and Casey Hampton are among the 130 nominees.

The list will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and to 15 finalists in January. A maximum of five modern-era players will be chosen when the selection committee meets the Saturday before the Super Bowl in Tampa, Florida.

Eighteen finalists will be presented to the full 48-member panel: the 15 modern-era finalists, and the recently nominated Drew Pearson (senior); Bill Nunn (contributor); and Tom Flores (coach).

Enshrinement at the hall in Canton, Ohio, will take place next August, when members of the 2020 class and a special centennial class also will enter the football shrine. The 2020 class could not be enshrined due to the coronavirus pandemic and will be honored next summer.

That class has players Steve Atwater, Isaac Bruce, Harold Carmichael, Jimbo Covert, Bobby Dillon, Cliff Harris, Winston Hill, Steve Hutchinson, Edgerrin James, Alex Karras, Troy Polamalu, Donnie Shell, Duke Slater, Mac Speedie and Ed Sprinkle; coaches Bill Cowher and Jimmy Johnson; and contributors Steve Sabol, Paul Tagliabue and George Young.

(Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.