Watch CBS News

Brown Voted Steelers' 2011 MVP, Farrior & Gilbert Receive Pro Football Writers Awards

PITTSBURGH (KDKA) -- With the regular season winding down, several awards were given out ahead of Steelers practice today.

Wide receiver Antonio Brown has been named the Steelers' MVP. He is the first Steelers wide receiver to be named the team MVP since Hines Ward in 2005.

Brown was also just named to his first Pro Bowl as a kick returner.

In his last seven games, Brown has 29 receptions for 587 yards, which are both team highs.

Brown is only the sixth Steelers' wide receiver to win the award in the last 40-plus years.

Meanwhile, linebacker James Farrior and offensive tackle Marcus Gilbert received the annual awards handed out by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America.

Farrior, who is in his 15th NFL season, received "The Chief Award," which goes to the member of the Steelers' organization who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media.

Gilbert was named the winner of the "Joe Greene Great Performance Award," which is given out to the outstanding Steelers' rookie.

Gilbert was the team's second round draft pick in 2011 and played in 13 games with 12 starts.

Pittsburgh Steelers "Brown voted MVP by teammates" "Farrior, Gilbert win PFWA awards"
More Steelers News

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.