Watch CBS News

Southeastern Pennsylvania To Stay In Yellow Phase As Gov. Wolf Announces 8 More Counties Moving Into Green Phase Next Week

PHILADELPHIA (CBS/AP) -- The Philadelphia region will not be moving into the green phase of Pennsylvania's reopening plan next week. Gov. Tom Wolf announced Friday eight more counties moving into the green phase of reopening.

On Friday, June 19, Dauphin, Franklin, Huntingdon, Luzerne, Monroe, Perry, Pike and Schuylkill Counties will move into the green phase.

Download The New And Improved CBS Philly App! 

It was speculated that southeastern Pennsylvania would join counties and move into the green phase next week.

Health officials announced another 49 COVID-19-related deaths Friday. The death toll now stands at 6,162. There were also 686 new coronavirus cases reported as the statewide total nears 78,000.

In Philadelphia, restaurants are now allowed to open their outdoor seating areas. 

As of Friday, 46 Pennsylvania counties are in the green phase and 21 are in the yellow.

(© Copyright 2020 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.