Watch CBS News

Crosby Wins Ted Lindsay Award As NHL's Most Outstanding Player

PITTSBURGH (93-7 The Fan) -- The Ted Lindsay Award is handed out after every NHL season to the player who is deemed to be most outstanding as voted on by the members of the NHL Players’ Association.

This season's winner is Pittsburgh Penguins' center Sidney Crosby.

Crosby wins his second Lindsay Award after posting 56 points in just 36 games, before breaking his jaw and missing the team's final 12 games.

"It is nice to be recognized by the guys that you play against," Crosby said. "I think it's obviously a compliment."

The Penguins’ captain returned to the form he had reached before his concussion issues began at Heinz Field during the Winter Classic in 2011.

"I was well rested," Crosby joked. "I got [back] to the level that I wanted to."

Crosby was also nominated for the Hart Trophy, which is the official league MVP. That award went to the Washington Capitals’ Alex Ovechkin.

Crosby wanted to win, but said losing out on the award will not cause him any lost sleep.

Crosby's teammate, Kris Letang was nominated for the Norris Trophy as the league’s top defenseman. The award was given to Montreal's P.K. Subban.

Sidney Crosby

Ray Shero Named NHL GM Of The Year (6/15/13)
More Penguins News
More Sports News

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.