Oscars 2015: Chris Pine, J.J. Abrams, Alfonso Cuaron to announce nominations

Chris Pine attends the celebration of his cover of Flaunt Magazine at Beautique on Nov. 22, 2014, in New York.

Noam Galai/Getty Images for Flaunt Magazine

Nominations for this year's Oscars will be announced in a new way, with the help of some Hollywood A-listers.

For the first time, nominees in all 24 categories will be revealed during a two-part live news conference from the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

Filmmakers Alfonso Curaron and J.J. Abrams, actor Chris Pine and Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs will be on hand to announce the contenders in the newly-revamped format on the morning of Jan. 15.

"Each of the three years we've produced the show, we have attempted to refresh elements of the process and the telecast," said Oscars producers Craig Zadan and Neil Meron. "This year, we're honored to start a new tradition that celebrates the contributions of all the nominees by announcing all 24 categories. We're thrilled that a distinguished actor and two world-class film directors are part of the initial launch."

Beginning at 5:30 a.m. PT/8:30 a.m. ET, Cuaron and Abrams will announce the nominees for Animated Feature Film, Documentary Feature, Documentary Short Subject, Film Editing, Original Song, Production Design, Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing and Visual Effects.

Then, at 5:38 a.m. PT/8:38 a.m. ET, Pine and Boone Isaacs will unveil the nominations for Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Cinematography, Costume Design, Directing, Foreign Language Film, Makeup and Hairstyling, Original Score, Adapted Screenplay, Original Screenplay and Best Picture.

The announcement event will be broadcasted and streamed live on www.oscars.org/live.

The 87th Academy Awards will be handed out on Feb. 22, in a ceremony hosted by Neil Patrick Harris.