Watch CBS News

Wayzata H.S. Science Team Wins National Science Bowl

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) -- The Wayzata High School science team is celebrating a major accomplishment.

On Monday morning, they won the Department of Energy National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C.

More than 9,000 high school students from around the country took part in the regional competitions.

"I'd like to congratulate the winning teams from Wayzata High School and Jonas Clarke Middle School," U.S. Secretary of Energy Rick Perry said. "I am excited to see where the dedication and focus of these teams, as well as each and every National Science Bowl participant, will take them in the years to come. After this challenging competition, I know the next generation is up to the great task of ensuring this nation remains a leader in science, technology and innovation."

Wayzata defeated Dulles High School in Texas by correctly answering a short answer energy question.

The members of the winning high school team include Aayush Gupta, Matthew Qu, Stephen Chen, Benjamin Weiner, and Geoffrey Chen. They are coached by Amanda Laden.

For winning first place, the Wayzata students will get to go on all-expense paid science trip to Alaska.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.