Watch CBS News

Gopher Football Head Coach P.J. Fleck Named 2019 Big Ten Coach Of The Year

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — Minnesota football head coach P.J. Fleck was named the 2019 Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year on Tuesday.

The recognition follows a 10-win season in Fleck's third year on the job. It was the team's first 9-0 start to a season in 115 years.

Fleck is just the third Minnesota head coach to win the award. The winner is selected by conference coaches.

Antoine Winfield Jr. was also named the 2019 Tatum-Woodson defensive back of the year.


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.