Watch CBS News

Gophers' Wilcox Earns Big Ten Player Of The Year

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) – Adam Wilcox was one of many winners for the University of Minnesota men's hockey team Monday as the Big Ten Conference handed out its inaugural awards.

Wilcox, one of the top goalies in the country, earned the Big Ten Player of the Year and Goaltender of the Year awards. Mike Reilly was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and Don Lucia was named the Coach of the Year.

Wilcox and Reilly were selected to the All-Big Ten first team, while Kyle Rau earned All-Big Ten second team honors and Hudson Fasching was named to the league's All-Freshman team.

In addition to earning Big Ten Player of the Year, Wilcox is up for the Hobey Baker Award and the Mike Richter Award. He leads the Big Ten and ranks third nationally with 23 wins, a .934 save percentage and a 1.91 goals against average.

Reilly finished the regular season with eight goals and 21 assists for one of the top defenses in the country. Rau led the Gophers in scoring with 33 points in the regular season, a mark that included 11 goals. Fasching led Big Ten freshman with 12 goals.

Also earning All-Big Ten Honorable mention honors were Sam Warning, Ben Marshall, Brady Skjei and Fasching. The Gophers enter the Big Ten Tournament with the No. 1 seed and will host the winner of Ohio State/Michigan State Friday night at Xcel Energy Center.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.