Watch CBS News

7 Minnesota Legislators Score Free Election Pass

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) — Election Day came five months early for seven incumbents in the Minnesota Legislature.

Six Republicans and one Democrat didn't attract any opponents by Tuesday's candidate filing deadline. Barring a write-in effort or a shocking turn of events, they'll be assured new two-year terms that begin in January.

The Republicans are Tony Cornish of Vernon Center, Kurt Daudt of Crown, Joe Hoppe of Chaska, Joe McDonald of Delano, Marion O'Neill of Buffalo and Duane Quam of Byron. The unopposed Democrat is Kim Norton of Rochester.

Unless candidates withdraw, Democrats will see eight legislative primaries while Republicans are in for 10 to determine nominees.

The struggle for control of the Minnesota House is one to watch in November. Republicans would need a gain of seven seats to flip control from Democrats.

(© Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.