Watch CBS News

CBS4's Kim Bokamper Honored On Dolphins' "Walk Of Fame"

MIAMI (CBSMiami) – Former Miami Dolphin, and CBS4 sports guy, Kim Bokamper received a special honor Sunday before the team's game against the New York Jets.

Bokamper, along with former Fins O.J. McDuffie, Eugene "Mercury" Morris and Keith Sims were inducted to the Dolphins' Walk of Fame at the Joe Robbie Alumni Plaza at Sun Life Stadium. The Walk of Fame is designed to honor the alumni, coaches and fans who have made significant contributions during the team's 47 year history.

Bokamper spent all nine of his NFL seasons, from 1977 to 198,5 with the Dolphins as a linebacker and defensive end. He appeared in 127 games with 103 in a starting role. A Pro Bowl selection at linebacker in 1979, he appeared in three AFC Championship games and two Super Bowls during his Dolphins career. Bokamper recorded 39.5 quarterback sacks as a member of the Dolphins which is tied for the eighth highest total in team history.

McDuffie was one of the most accomplished wide receivers in team history during his nine year career with the Dolphins from 1993 to 2001. He became the first and only Miami receiver to lead the NFL in receptions when he recorded a franchise-record 90 receptions during the 1998 season. The winner of the 1997 Ed Block Courage award, McDuffie currently ranks fourth in receptions (415) and fifth in receiving yards (5,074) in team history.

Morris played seven seasons, from 1969 to 1973, as a running back and kick returner with the Dolphins. During his career he rushed for 4,133 yards on 804 carries with 31 touchdowns. His 5.1 career rushing average still ranks as the best in Dolphins history. During the 1972 season, along with Larry Csonka, he was a part of the first backfield tandem to each rush for 1,000 yards in the same season in NFL History. A three-time Pro Bowl selection (1971-73), Morris was member of three Super Bowl teams, including the 1972 Perfect Season team, as well as being named to the Dolphins Silver Anniversary Team in 1990.

Sims spent eight seasons with the Dolphins, from 1990 to 1997, as a valuable member of the offensive line, starting 108 of the 113 games at left guard. During his time in Miami, During his tenure, Sims was selected to three Pro Bowls (1993-95). He was also a part of two AFC Eastern Division Championship teams (1992, 1994), five playoff teams (1990, 1992, 1994, 1995 and 1997).

The 2012 honorees included defensive tackle Tim Bowens, linebacker/defensive end AJ Duhe, defensive end Manny Fernandez, wide receiver Nat Moore and quarterbacks Earl Morrall and Don Strock.

The 2011 inaugural class were team founder Joe Robbie and the members of the Dolphins enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Head Coach Don Shula and players linebacker Nick Buoniconti, fullback Larry Csonka, quarterback Bob Griese, center Jim Langer, guard Larry Little, quarterback Dan Marino, center Dwight Stephenson and wide receiver Paul Warfield.


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.