Watch CBS News

Gov. Greg Abbott Declares 4 North Texas Counties Disaster Areas After Tornadoes, Storms

Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

NORTH TEXAS (CBSDFW.COM) — Texas Gov. Greg Abbott declared a state of disaster in Collin, Dallas, Ellis and Rockwall counties following deadly tornadoes and storms that rolled through North Texas on Saturday. More counties may be added if needed.

"Our heartfelt thoughts and prayers go out to those Texans who have been affected by this severe weather," Abbott said. "Please be assured that Texas is doing everything it can to assist in the challenges our citizens are currently facing. I want to thank the first responders and local officials on the ground and strongly encourage all Texans to heed their warnings in the coming the days."

Abbott said Texas Department of Public Safety, urban search and rescue teams Texas Task Force 1 and 2, the National Guard and the Texas Guard will all assist in the clean-up and recovery efforts.

As rescue efforts continue, at least 11 people have been confirmed dead. Meteorologists are still surveying the area to evaluate damage and determine how many tornadoes came through and how strong they are.

(©2015 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.