Watch CBS News

Varitek, Wakefield To Be Inducted Into Red Sox Hall Of Fame

BOSTON (CBS) -- A pair of two-time World Series champs will be enshrined in the Red Sox Hall of Fame in 2016.

Former Red Sox players Jason Varitek and Tim Wakefield, who both won titles with the team in 2004 and 2007, highlight the 2016 Red Sox Hall of Fame inductees. The late Ira Flagstead will also be enshrined, Red Sox President/CEO Emeritus Larry Lucchino will be honored as a non-uniformed inductee and David Ortiz's 2013 game-tying grand slam in Game 2 of the American League Championship Series against the Detroit Tigers at Fenway Park has been selected as this year's "Great Red Sox Moment."

Varitek caught a club-record 1,488 games over 15 years with the team from 1997-2011, and served as team captain for his final seven seasons in a Red Sox uniform. He caught four no-hitters while behind the plate for Boston.

Wakefield spent 17 seasons with the Red Sox from 1995-2011 and finished his career as the franchise's all-time leader in starts (430) and innings pitched (3,006.0) and third in wins with 186. He is the only pitcher in Red Sox history to make at least 200 starts and 150 relief appearances for the team, and pitched in a club-record eight different postseasons.

Flagstead played parts of seven seasons with the Red Sox from 1923-29 and was best known for his impressive defensive abilities. He started three double plays from the outfield on Patriots Day in 1926 and led all outfielders with 115 assists during his time with the Red Sox.

As for this year's "Great Red Sox Moment," fans will always remember the image of Ortiz's game-tying grand slam against the Tigers at Fenway Park. With two out in the eighth inning of Game 2 of the ALCS and the Red Sox trailing 5-1, Ortiz blasted a clutch grand slam into the Red Sox bullpen, just escaping the glove of a tumbling Torii Hunter. Boston went on to win the game in the ninth and even the series at a game apiece, they beat the Tigers in six games and then bested the St. Louis Cardinals in the World Series.

Boston police officer Steve Horgan reacts as Torii Hunter of the Detroit Tigers tries to catch a grand slam hit by Red Sox DH David Ortiz in the eighth inning of Game Two of the American League Championship Series at Fenway Park on October 13, 2013. (Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images)


The newest members of the Red Sox Hall of Fame will be inducted on May 19 as part of an awards gala hosted by the Red Sox Foundation at the Sheraton Boston Hotel, and will also be celebrated at Fenway Park during a pregame ceremony before the Red Sox-Indians game on May 20.



View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.