Watch CBS News

Jake Auchincloss Wins Kennedy's House Seat, Incumbents Sweep

NEWTON (CBS/AP) — Democrat Jake Auchincloss was voted into Massachusetts' open U.S. House seat as voting concluded Tuesday.

In the state's 4th Congressional District, Newton City Councilor Auchincloss became the newest member of the state's all-Democratic congressional delegation by defeating Republican Julie Hall.

Hall, a 62-year-old retired Air Force colonel from Attleboro, had not conceded as of Wednesday morning, even though Auchincloss had more than 61-percent of the vote.

The open seat was held by Joe Kennedy, who opted not to seek reelection after deciding to challenge Ed Markey.

CHECK: Town-By-Town Election Results

The 32-year-old Marine Corps veteran narrowly edged out six fellow Democrats in September's crowded primary.

Auchincloss said he believes Trump has failed to show any real leadership.

"Tonight is not about me though," Auchincloss told reporters late Tuesday. "Tonight is about this country's opportunity to rebuild after four years of an administration that has left us weaker, sicker, poorer and more divided than in any time since the Civil War. Together we can chart a course of renewal."


Rep. Jim McGovern, who represents the state's 2nd Congressional District, fended off GOP challenger Tracy Lovvorn, while 5th Congressional District Rep. Katherine Clark defeated a challenge from Republican Caroline Colarusso.

Former presidential candidate Rep. Seth Moulton, who represents the 6th Congressional District, beat GOP challenger John Paul Moran, while Rep. William Keating, who represents the 9th Congressional District, fended off a challenge from Republican Helen Brady and independent Michael Manley.

Two Democratic incumbents — 1st Congressional District Rep. Richard Neal and 3rd Congressional District Rep. Lori Trahan — ran unopposed.

7th Congressional District Rep. Ayanna Pressley defeated independent Roy Owens to win a second term.

8th Congressional District Rep. Stephen Lynch defeated independent challenger Jonathan Lott.

(© Copyright 2020 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.