Watch CBS News

Harvard's Amaker Named NABC Coach Of The Year

BOSTON (CBS) - Harvard men's basketball coach Tommy Amaker has been named the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District Coach of the Year for District 13.

In his fourth season at Harvard, Amaker led the Crimson to a program-best 23 wins and a share of the team's first Ivy League title. Harvard fell to Princeton in a one-game playoff for the Ivy League's at-large bid in the NCAA tournament, but earned a berth in the National Invitation Tournament (NIT) for the first time, facing Oklahoma State in the first round.

Read: Princeton Beats Harvard At Buzzer In Ivy League Playoff

Four of Amaker's players received All-Ivy League honors, including forward Keith Wright, who took home conference Player of the Year honors and was a unanimous selection to the All-Ivy first team. Sophomore forward Kyle Casey and sophomore guard Brandyn Curry were tabbed to the All-Ivy League second team, while sophomore guard Christian Webster garnered honorable mention.

Read: Harvard's Keith Wright Named Ivy League Player Of Year

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.