Watch CBS News

June 15 runoff elections in several North Texas counties: What to know

CBS News Live
CBS News Texas Live

NORTH TEXAS — Texans are once again heading to the polls. Another runoff election will be held on June 15 in Collin, Dallas, Denton, and Tarrant counties.

This runoff election features races in which no candidate received more than 50% of the vote in the March 5 primary election or 50% + 1 in the primary runoff election on May 28. 

Polls will be open on Saturday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. 

Are you registered to vote?

Check your registration and verify your information on the Texas Secretary of State's website by clicking here.  

If you're not registered, be sure to do so for the November general election. The deadline to register to vote in-person is Oct. 7. If you want to vote by mail, the last day to apply is Oct. 25.

What do you need to vote?

Voters must present one of seven acceptable forms of identification at the polls, according to Texas law. The seven acceptable forms include:

  • Texas driver license
  • Texas election ID certificate
  • Texas personal ID card
  • Texas handgun license
  • U.S. citizenship certificate with photo
  • U.S. military ID card
  • U.S. passport

What's on the ballot?

Collin County

Allen City Council Place 3
Dave Cornette: received 46.9%, or 2,912 votes.
Ken Cook: received 35.4% or 2,198 votes. A third candidate, Saad Hamid received 17.6% of the vote and is not part of the runoff on June 15.

Allen City Council Place 5
Dave Shafer: received 31.7% or 1,963 votes.
Carl Clemencich: received 48.8% of the votes or 3,025. Two additional candidates ran, Walter Merrill and Zeeshan Maseh, who received 16% or 989 votes. Neither Merrill nor Maseh is part of the runoff on June 15.

Dallas County

Irving City Council District 4
Luis Canosa: received 33.3% or 752 votes.
Susan Motley: received 26.3% or 595 votes.

Dallas/Denton counties

Lewisville City Council Place 2
Penny Mallett: received 41.5%or 1,980 votes.
William J. Meridith: received 36.76% or 1,753 votes. A third candidate, Ainsley Stelling received 21.7% or 1,036 votes and is not part of the runoff on June 15.

Tarrant County

Euless City Council Place 5
Annabel Jones Eads: received 44% or 639 votes. 
Joseph A. Robinson: received 34.3% or 498 votes. Two additional candidates ran, Julius Handley IV and Uzoma J. Duru Jr. Handley received 9% or 131 votes. Duru received 12.6% or 184 votes. Neither is participating in the runoff on June 15.

Kennedale City Council Place 2
Matthew Dyer
Thelma L. Kobeck

North Richland Hills City Council Place 4
Matt Blake: received 41.4% of the vote.
Jeff Arwine: received 38.4% of the vote. A third candidate, Tracy Bennett received 20.3%of the vote and will not participate in the runoff on June 15.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.