Watch CBS News

Tony Awards Winners List (2021)

(CBS) - The Tony Awards honor the best productions from the 2019-2020 season tonight on CBS and streaming with Paramount+. With a unique format, this year's awards are comprised of two productions. First up is the awards ceremony streaming on Paramount+ followed by The Tony Awards Present: Broadways Back!, a live concert hosted by Leslie Odom Jrs. on CBS.

Check out the full list of winners below.

Best Play
"The Sound Inside" – Adam Rapp
"Grand Horizons" – Bess Wohl
"Slave Play" – Jeremy O. Harris
"The Inheritance" – Matthew Lopez
"Sea Wall/A Life" – Simon Stephens and Nick Payne

Best Musical
"Jagged Little Pill"
"Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"
"Moulin Rouge! The Musical"

Best Revival of a Play
"Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune"
"A Soldier's Play"

Best Book of a Musical
Diablo Cody – "Jagged Little Pill
Katori Hall, Frank Ketelaar, and Kees Prins – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"
John Logan – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Play
Blair Underwood – "A Soldier's Play"
Jake Gyllenhaal – "Sea Wall/A Life"
Andrew Burnap – "The Inheritance"
Tom Sturridge – "Sea Wall/A Life"
Tom Hiddleston – "Betrayal"
Ian Barford – "Linda Vista"

Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Play
Audra McDonald – "Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune"
Laura Linney – "My Name Is Lucy Barton"
Joaquina Kalukango – "Slave Play"
Mary-Louise Parker – "The Sound Inside"

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Musical
Aaron Tveit – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"
Adrienne Warren – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"
Karen Olivo – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"
Elizabeth Stanley – "Jagged Little Pill"
Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Musical

Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Play
John Benjamin Hickey – "The Inheritance"
David Alan Grier – "A Soldier's Play"
Ato Blankson-Wood – "Slave Play"
Paul Hilton – "The Inheritance"
James Cusati-Moyer – "Slave Play"

Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a Play
Jane Alexander – "Grand Horizons"
Lois Smith – "The Inheritance"
Annie McNamara – "Slave Play"
Cora Vander Broek – "Linda Vista"
Chalia La Tour – "Slave Play"

Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Musical
Sahr Ngaujah – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"
Danny Burstein – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"
Derek Klena – "Jagged Little Pill"
Daniel J. Watts – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"
Sean Allan Krill – "Jagged Little Pill"

Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a Musical
Lauren Patten – "Jagged Little Pill"
Kathryn Gallagher – "Jagged Little Pill"
Celia Rose Gooding – "Jagged Little Pill"
Robyn Hurder – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"
Myra Lucretia Taylor – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"

Best Direction of a Play
David Cromer – "The Sound Inside"
Jamie Lloyd – "Betrayal"
Stephen Daldry – "The Inheritance"
Robert O'Hara – "Slave Play"
Kenny Leon – "A Soldier's Play"

Best Direction of a Musical
Phyllida Lloyd – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"
Alex Timbers – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"
Diane Paulus – "Jagged Little Pill"

Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics Written for the Theatre)
Lindsay Jones – "Slave Play"
Paul Englishby – "The Inheritance"
Fitz Patton and Jason Michael Webb – "The Rose Tattoo"
Christopher Nightingale – "A Christmas Carol"
Daniel Kluger – "The Sound Inside"

Best Choreography
Anthony Van Laast – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"
Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui – "Jagged Little Pill"
Sonya Tayeh – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"

Best Scenic Design of a Play
Soutra Gilmour – "Betrayal"
Bob Crowley – "The Inheritance"
Rob Howell – "A Christmas Carol"
Derek McLane – "A Soldier's Play"
Clint Ramos – "Slave Play"

Best Scenic Design of a Musical
Riccardo Hernández and Lucy MacKinnon – "Jagged Little Pill"
Mark Thompson and Jeff Sugg – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"
Derek McLane – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"

Best Costume Design of a Play
Bob Crowley – "The Inheritance"
Clint Ramos – "The Rose Tattoo"
Rob Howell – "A Christmas Carol"
Dede Ayite – "Slave Play"
Dede Ayite – "A Soldier's Play"

Best Costume Design in a Musical
Emily Rebholz – "Jagged Little Pill"
Mark Thompson – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"
Catherine Zuber – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"

Best Lighting Design of a Play
Hugh Vanstone – "A Christmas Carol"
Jiyoun Chang – "Slave Play"
Allen Lee Hughes – "A Soldier's Play"
Heather Gilbert – "The Sound Inside"
Jon Clark – "The Inheritance"

Best Lighting Design of a Musical
Bruno Poet – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"
Justin Townsend – "Jagged Little Pill"
Justin Townsend – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"

Best Sound Design of a Play
Daniel Kluger – "The Sound Inside"
Simon Baker – "A Christmas Carol"
Lindsay Jones – "Slave Play"
Paul Arditti and Christopher Reid – "The Inheritance"
Daniel Kluger – "Sea Wall/A Life"

Best Sound Design of a Musical
Jonathan Deans – "Jagged Little Pill"
Peter Hylenski – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"
Nevin Steinberg – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"

Best Orchestration
Katie Kresek, Charlie Rosen, Matt Stine and Justin Levine – "Moulin Rouge! The Musical"
Tom Kitt – "Jagged Little Pill"
Ethan Popp – "Tina: The Tina Turner Musical"


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.