Watch CBS News

New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy Issues State Of Emergency For Select Counties Ahead Of Winter Storm

TRENTON, N.J. (CBS) -- New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy has issued a state of emergency for five counties ahead of the large snow system moving through the area early Sunday morning. Gov. Murphy said the state of emergency is for Atlantic, Burlington, Cape May, Cumberland, and Ocean Counties.

Governor Murphy Holds Winter Weather Briefing by New Jersey Office of the Governor on YouTube

That will last from 9 p.m. Sunday to 4 p.m. Monday.

Those counties are currently under a winter storm watch from the National Weather Service.

"The anticipated winter storm is expected to bring heavy snow, wind gusts, and coastal flooding in parts of Southern New Jersey," Governor Murphy said. "Residents should stay off the roads, remain vigilant, and follow all safety protocols."

The storm may also bring coastal flooding and sustained high winds. Watch the latest forecast below.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.