Watch CBS News

Mayor-elect Cherelle Parker sworn in as Philadelphia's 100th mayor

Mayor Cherelle Parker delivers inaugural address at The Met Philadelphia
Mayor Cherelle Parker delivers inaugural address at The Met Philadelphia 01:01:59

PHILADELPHIA (CBS) -- Cherelle Parker was publicly sworn in as Philadelphia's 100th mayor Tuesday afternoon during an inauguration ceremony at The Met in North Philly. Parker will be the city's first woman and Black woman to lead the city.

Parker, along with city councilmembers, city commissioners, sheriff, register of wills and judiciary, took the oath of office as part of a regular Philadelphia City Council session that began at 10 a.m.

Parker defeated Republican David Oh, her former colleague on city council, in November's general election. She captured the Democratic nomination by beating former City Controller Rebecca Rhynhart and former city councilmembers Helen Gym and Allan Domb, among others, in a field in last May's primary.

Darrell Clarke signs off as Philadelphia City Council president during Mayor Parker's inauguration 04:36

Who's being inaugurated Tuesday?

Parker wasn't the only person being installed into office on Tuesday. Here's a list of everyone who will be part of the swearing-in ceremony at The Met Philadelphia.

Philadelphia City Council

  • Council President Kenyatta Johnson (2nd District)
  • Councilmember Mark Squilla (1st District)
  • Councilmember Jamie Gauthier (3rd District)
  • Councilmember Curtis Jones, Jr. (4th District)
  • Councilmember-elect Jeffery "Jay" Young, Jr. (5th District)
  • Councilmember Mike Driscoll (6th District)
  • Councilmember Quetcy M. Lozada (7th District)
  • Councilmember Cindy Bass (8th District),
  • Councilmember Anthony Phillips (9th District),
  • Councilmember Brian J. O'Neill (10th District),
  • Councilmember-elect Nina Ahmad
  • Councilmember Kendra Brooks
  • Councilmember Katherine Gilmore Richardson
  • Councilmember Jim Harrity
  • Councilmember-elect Rue Landau
  • Councilmember-elect Nicolas O'Rourke
  • Councilmember Isaiah Thomas

City commissioners

  • Commissioner Lisa Deeley
  • Commissioner Omar Sabir
  • Commissioner Seth Bluestein

Sheriff Rochelle Bilal, City Controller Christy Brady, Register of Wills-elect John Sabatina as well as members of the Judiciary for the Court of Common Pleas and Philadelphia Municipal Court.

What else is on the inauguration day schedule?

Following her inauguration, Parker will administer the oath of office during the swearing-in ceremony for Philadelphia Police Commissioner Kevin Bethel. Parker named Bethel to the position before Thanksgiving, her first major appointment. That ceremony will take place at 1:30 p.m. at Russell Conwell Middle School.

Then at 3 p.m., the mayor will sign three executive orders Parker's office says are key priorities in her first term:

  1. Declare a public safety emergency in Philadelphia and direct the police commissioner and managing director's office to develop comprehensive plans that address public safety across the city
  2. Make local government more visible, responsive and effective in how it delivers services to citizens and constituents
  3. Expand economic opportunity for residents of Philadelphia by removing barriers to city employment, including ending requirements for a college degree as a prerequisite for employment

Who else is in Parker's administration?

Since the Nov. 7 general election, Parker has been working on putting together her administration. Last week, she appointed Fire Commissioner Adam Thiel as the city's managing director. Parker also named Adam Geer as the city's first-ever chief public safety director last week.

Craig Murphy, 1st deputy commissioner of the Philadelphia Fire Department, will serve as acting fire commissioner while Parker searches for a full-time replacement for Thiel.

Tiffany W. Thurman was selected as Parker's chief of staff, with Chris Dailey serving as her deputy chief of staff.

Sinceré Harris will be Parker's chief deputy mayor of intergovernmental affairs, sustainability and engagement. Brenda Rios was chosen as the associate deputy mayor of intergovernmental and legislative affairs, sustainability and engagement.

Aren Platt will be chief deputy mayor of planning and strategic initiatives. Jessie D. Lawrence will serve as Pratt's associate deputy mayor of planning and strategic initiatives.

Alba Martinez will be the commerce director and Renee Garcia will be city solicitor in her administration.

Streets Commissioner Carlton Williams was picked to lead the Office of Clean & Green Initiatives.

Parker named Joe Grace as her communications director.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.