Fall Accessories: Bright And Bold

Accessories are frequently an afterthought for women when they get dressed.

But this season, accessories are taking center stage.

The October issue of InStyle magazine (www.instyle.com) has the scoop on the trends for fall, and InStyle national correspondent Katrina Szish shared the inside info with The Early Show viewers Tuesday.

She says handbags, shoes, jewelry and more are vital for the latest fall looks.

They're not just functional anymore. Rather, they tell the world who you are.

There's an accessory suited for your personality or style, Szish says. There's so much to choose from, you can't go wrong.

According to Szish:

  • Belts are popular: Cinching your waist is "in"! It's up to you whether to use a patent or skin belt.
  • Big jewelry is in! Add some glam with big cuff bracelets or a big sparkly ring.
  • Color, a trend from last season, remains very popular in accessories, especially handbags, big or small. Animal prints and faux fur continue to be very popular, so bring out your inner-animal and try on animal-print accessories!

    Bags

    Purple Patent Bag -- Mulberry, $895; phone: 888.685.6856 for stores or www.mulberry.com
    "It" bag: Purple Patent Bag -- Mulberry, $895; phone: 888.685.6856 for stores or www.mulberry.com -- purple is huge trend this season
    Brass, Wool, Plexi & Lizard Bag -- Fendi, $5,040; Available at Fendi boutiques nationwide, for information call phone: 1.800.FENDI NY
    Brown Faux-Leather Bag -- Matt & Nat, $135; www.mattandnat.com
    Purple Silk Charmeuse Clutch -- Inge Christopher, $108; phone: 800.772.0418, www.ingechristopher.com
    Silver Metallic Leather Bag -- Cynthia Rowley, $455; www.hobbyfob.com
    Camel Leather Tote Bag -- Cynthia Rowley, $395; www.hobbyfob.com
    Envelope Clutch -- Franchi, $220; www.hobbyfob.com

    Shoes

    Leather Flats -- Christian Louboutin, $595; www.christianlouboutin.fr -- THIS IS It shoe: Leather Flats -- Christian Louboutin, $595; www.christianlouboutin.fr -- metallic, '80s-inspired rocker flats are a must!
    Faux Snakeskin Boots -- Cynthia Vincent, $595; phone: 732.663.1009, www.cynthiavincent.net
    Gold Embellished Leather Flat Boots -- Hogan, $795; phone: 888.604.6426, www.hoganonline.it
    Purple Patent Wedges -- Guess by Marciano, $110; at Bloomingdale's

    Jewelry

    Glass and Hematite Flower Bracelet -- Sequin for Badgley Mischka, $300; at Neiman Marcus
    "It" jewelry: Glass and Hematite Flower Bracelet -- Sequin for Badgley Mischka, $300; at Neiman Marcus -- statement jewelry is in this season, no demure jewels
    Cuff -- Nine West, $55; phone: 800.999.1877 for stores, www.ninewest.com
    Silver Plate Necklace -- R.J. Graziano, $350; phone: 212.685.1248
    Necklace of mother-of-pearl and cotton -- Renata Mann, $170, for more info see www.renatamann.com
    Gold Plate & Crystal Bracelet -- Kenneth Jay Lane, $750; phone: 877.953.5264, www.kennethjaylane.net
    Silver Cuff and Glass -- Sequin Jewelry, $225; at Henri Bendel
    Austrian Crystal Bracelet -- R.J. Graziano, $125; phone: 212.685.1248
    *red stone Ring -- M+J Savitt, $650; phone: 800.972.8488
    *all other large, cocktail rings from Bendel's

    Hats

    Wool Knit Hat -- Marc Jacobs, $860; phone: 415.362.6500, www.marcjacobs.com: THIS IS THE It hat: Wool Knit Hat -- Marc Jacobs, $860; phone: 415.362.6500, www.marcjacobs.com; hats are a fall-must and Marc Jacobs showed them throughout his runway show
    Brown Fur Felt Hat -- Patricia Underwood, $400; at Bergdorf Goodman
    Camel Felt cloche with feather -- Lola, $215; available at Neiman Marcus

    Gloves

    Forget mittens! Instead, try on these sophisticated gloves. They instantly update any of your cold weather looks.

    Pink Leather Gloves with Bow Detail -- Miu Miu, $310; phone: 888.977.1900 for stores: THIS IS THE It gloves: Pink Leather Gloves with Bow Detail -- Miu Miu, $310; phone: 888.977.1900 for stores -- ladylike gloves are perfect for the season, chic, feminine and come in a variety of styles -- long and driving gloves
    Burgundy Wool-Cashmere Gloves -- Nicole Miller, $45; www.nicolemiller.com for stores
    Yellow Leather Gloves -- La Crasia, $125; phone: 212.803.1600
    Black Patent Leather Driving Gloves -- Carolina Amato, $150; www.carolinaamato.com
    Silver Metallic Leather Driving Gloves -- Carolina Amato, $150; www.carolinaamato.com
    Gold Metallic Leather Driving Gloves -- Carolina Amato, $150; www.carolinaamato.com
    Black & Gold Leather Gloves -- Carolina Amato, $150; www.carolinaamato.com
    Gunmetal Long Leather Gloves -- Carolina Amato, $189; available at Lord & Taylor
    Gunmetal Leather & Knit Gloves -- Carolina Amato, $100; available at Lord & Taylor

    Scarf and Sunglasses

    Yellow Bamboo Wrap Scarf -- Echo, $58; www.echodesign.com
    Sunglasses -- Christian Roth, $330; at Bergdorf Goodman, www.christian-roth.com

    LOOKS OF THE MODELS on The Early Show:

    All Natural: This is a nice way to incorporate the natural colors into wardrobe. Adds light, but it isn't too light for fall.

    Dress -- Coley Claire, $456; www.pinklemons.com
    Boots -- Banana Republic, $225; at Banana Republic stores nationwide, www.bananarepublic.com
    Metallic Cork Clutch -- Lauren Merkin, $295; phone: 212.239.2459, www.laurenmerkin.com
    Amber Necklaces -- R.J. Graziano, $135 each; phone: 212.685.1248
    Rock Crystal Earrings -- ILI Designs, $128; phone: 678.592.4542, www.ilidesigns.com
    Sunglasses -- Miu Miu, $149; phone: 212.334.5156

    Well-Mannered Romantic: This is different than the romantic look from a few seasons ago. This look has more restraint. It isn't about overly flowy hair or dresses. It's about ladylike accessories that evoke nostalgia for withering heights. You will see a mixture of textures ... and feminine details.

    Dress -- Julie Haus, $370; www.juliehaus.com
    Patent Leather Belt -- Raina Belts, $215; www.etceteraonline.com
    Felt cloche with feather -- Lola, $215; available at Neiman Marcus
    Patent Leather Spectator Pumps -- Moschino, $460; www.shopbop.com
    Velvet Bag -- Hogan, $1,100; phone: 888.604.6426; www.hoganonline.it
    Resin Stone & Swarovski Crystal Necklace -- Gerard Yosca, $345; www.oliandlina.com
    Swarovski Crystal Bracelet -- Badgley Mischka, $325; available at select Bloomingdale's stores

    Rebel: This is a modified '80s punk-inspired look. The colors definitely make you think of the 80s. It's modern, edgy, and certainly isn't a look for the shy folks. This is definitely attention getting.

    Leather Jacket -- H&M, $198; available at H&M stores, www.hm.com for locations
    Silver Satin Tank -- Julie Haus, www.juliehaus.com
    Gray Jeans -- Denim for Immortality, $198; available at Saks Fifth Avenue
    Leather Ankle Boots -- Rock & Republic, $695; www.rockandrepublic.com
    Vinyl Clutch -- Steve Madden, $38; www.stevemadden.com for stores
    Leather Gloves -- Francesco Biasia, $150; phone: 800.865.5422 for stores
    Necklace -- Subversive Jewelry by Justin Giunta, $1,400; phone: 212.679.0453, www.subversivejewelry.com
    Cuff -- Nine West, $55; phone: 800.999.1877 for stores, www.ninewest.com
    Ring -- M+J Savitt, $650; phone: 800.972.8488
    Sunglasses -- Ray-Ban, $130; at Bloomingdale's or www.ray-ban.com

    On Szish: Glamorous Gadabout

    Jacket -- Julie Haus, www.juliehaus.com
    Patent Belt -- Gucci, $495; phone: 800.456.7663 or www.gucci.com
    Crystal Earrings -- Spear Jewelry, $189; at House of Petro Zilla, phone: 323.782.0424
    Faceted-Mirror Bracelets -- PONO by Jane Goodman, $1,200 each; phone: 631.324.6666
    Black Lace up Boot Shoe -- Sergio Rossi, $690; phone: 212.956.3304 or www.sergiorossi.com