Watch CBSN Live

A List Of US Winners Of The Nobel Peace Prize

President Barack Obama is not the first sitting U.S. president to receive the Nobel Peace Prize _ Woodrow Wilson and Theodore Roosevelt were the first two, and he joins a long list of Americans whose efforts have drawn the attention of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

U.S. winners of the Nobel Peace Prize include:


1906, Theodore Roosevelt

1912, Elihu Root

1919, Woodrow Wilson

1925, Charles G. Dawes

1929, Frank B. Kellogg

1931, Jane Addams

1931, Nicholas Murray Butler

1945, Cordell Hull

1946, Emily Greene Balch

1946, John R. Mott

1950, Ralph Bunche

1953, George C. Marshall

1962, Linus Pauling

1964, Martin Luther King Jr.

1970, Norman Borlaug

1973, Henry Kissinger

1986, Elie Wiesel

1997, Jody Williams

2002, Jimmy Carter

2007, Al Gore

2009, Barack Obama

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.