Watch CBS News

Larranaga Named AP Coach Of The Year

MIAMI (CBSMiami) – University of Miami Hurricanes basketball fans can enjoy one more title for the historic season the men's team just completed.

The Associated Press announced Thursday that UM head coach Jim Larranaga has been selected as the Coach of the Year. Larranaga received 29 of 65 possible first-place votes and was followed by Jim Crews of St. Louis and Mark Few of Gonzaga.

It's easy to see why Larranaga was the runaway selection for coach of the year. He took a Canes team not expected to contend to an Atlantic Coast Conference regular season and tournament titles along with a number two ranking in the country at one point in the year.

Overall, Larranaga's Hurricanes finished the season with a 29-7 record in just his second season at the school. UM made it to the Sweet 16 in the 2013 NCAA Tournament before bowing out to Marquette University.

Larranaga is the first University of Miami head basketball coach to win the award and is the first ACC coach to win it since North Carolina head coach Roy Williams was selected in 2006.

(TM and © Copyright 2013 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2013 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.