Watch CBS News

Gov. Ron DeSantis Issues Executive Order Expanding State Of Emergency Ahead Of Tropical Storm Elsa

MIAMI (CBSMiami) – On Monday afternoon, Gov. Ron DeSantis issued an executive order to expand a state of emergency ahead of Tropical Storm Elsa.

The following counties are now under the state of emergency:

Alachua, Columbia, Dixie, Franklin, Hamilton, Gilchrist, Jefferson, Lake, Lafayette, Madison, Marion, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor and Wakulla.

Those counties are in addition to the following already covered by the state of emergency:

Charlotte, Citrus, Collier,  Hernando, Hillsborough, Lee, Levy, Manatee, Monroe, Pasco, Pinellas and Sarasota.

However, under the new executive order, Miami-Dade, DeSoto and Hardee have been removed from the state of emergency.

The move comes as Tropical Storm Elsa made landfall on the southern coast of Cuba on Monday afternoon.

The storm is expected to make landfall in Florida within the next few days.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.