Watch CBS News

FAST FACTS: Florida's Safe Haven Law

(CBS4) -- Fast Facts on Florida's Safe Haven Law which allows a parent to leave a newborn baby at a hospital, fire station or emergency medical station, without fear of prosecution.

*Age: 7 days old or younger

*Baby may be left with a person at a hospital, fire station or emergency medical station

*Parent has the absolute right to remain anonymous and the parent is provided immunity from prosecution for abandonment if there is no abuse or neglect.

*The babies are usually placed with adoptive parents.

*117 babies have been dropped off at these sites since the law was passed in 2000.

*42 babies have been left in "unsafe places" and only 18 survived.

*Call 1-877-767-BABY (2229) for a toll-free, multilingual help line. It's staffed 24 hours a day and all calls are confidential.

*Click here for more information from


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.