Watch CBS News

Deion & Russell Maryland Make College Football Hall Of Fame

MIAMI ( – The College Football Hall of Fame inductions have a Florida feel to it this year. Former University of Miami Hurricane Russell Maryland and former Florida State cornerback Deion Sanders lead the 2011 class inducted to the College Hall of Fame.

Maryland won national championships in 1987 and 89 with the Canes. He was also the school's first Outland Trophy winner, which recognizes the country's top interior lineman. In his Outland Trophy winning season, he had 96 tackles and 10.5 sacks.

He would go on to be selected number one overall by Jimmy Johnson and the Dallas Cowboys. Maryland would play defensive tackled in the NFL with the Cowboys, the Oakland Raiders, and the Green Bay Packers.

Deion Sanders was a two-time All-American and pulled down 14 interceptions in his career. He won the Jim Thorpe Award in 1988 as the nation's top defensive back. Sanders was also a star baseball player at FSU and hit over .300 in 1986.

Sanders, who became known as "Prime Time," went on to star in the NFL for the Atlanta Falcons, San Francisco 49ers, and Dallas Cowboys. He had 53 career interceptions and 22 touchdowns.

As a baseball player, Sanders played for the Yankees, Braves, Reds, and Giants and finished with a .263 career average.

Other players making it into the College Hall of Fame included: Ohio State running back Eddie George; Florida receiver Carlos Alvarez; Georgia defensive back Jake Scott, West Virginia linebacker Darryl Talley, and Michigan State receiver Gene Washingto

Head coaches Lloyd Carr of Michigan and Fisher DeBerry of Air Force were also picked for the Hall of Fame. Former UM coach Jimmy Johnson didn't make the cut again for the Hall of Fame.


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.