Watch CBS News

CBS4 Crews Take Home Thirteen Emmy Awards

MIAMI (CBSMiami) – It was an exciting night for dozens of television professionals at the 38TH Annual Suncoast Regional Emmy Awards at the Westin Beach Resort & Spa in Fort Lauderdale.

WFOR/CBS4 won a total of thirteen Emmy® Awards in eleven categories Saturday night. The station took home more awards than any other station in the southeast region.

CBS4's Michele Gillen, along with Sandra Antonio, Alexandra Nobrega, and Abel Castillo, received an Emmy award for her Continuing Coverage in her piece, "The Forgotten Floor."

In the category of Feature News Report, several CBS4 employees were honored.

CBS4 Reporter David Sutta, along with Frazier Nivens, was awarded for his piece "31 Days Underwater."

Sutta, along with David Schott, and Becky Kagan Schott, was also awarded for "A Christmas Day Tragedy," a special which gave a glimpse into the dangerous sport of underwater cave diving.

In the categories of news specials, CBS4's  David Sutta, Kyle Hall, David Schott, Becky Kagan Schott, Nicholas Bourne, Cari Hernandez, Elizabeth Roldan won for the Cave Diving: Beyond the Limits Special.  The same special also got award when it came to promotion and editing.

Sutta also grabbed an award for on-camera talent and writing.

In the Technical Achievement category, David Sutta, David Schott, Becky Kagan Schott, Kyle Hall, Nicholas Bourne won an award for the report "Cave Diving with Cameras, Comms, and Crazy People."

CBS4's photojournalist Mitch Cuba, along with Zoo Miami's Ron Magill, was honored for their Feature News Report, "Alligator Love."

Investigative report Jim DeFede took home an Emmy for his report, Police Shooting Frenzy. Alexandra Nobrega, Sam Hernández, Cari Hernandez also won for the same report.

For South Florida weather coverage, Howard Bernstein, Craig Setzer, Angela Travieso won an Emmy for "Hurricane 2014: Surviving the Season."

In addition, CBS4 Production Manager John Mays received the Chapter's Governors' Award, which recognizes "those persons or entities who would not otherwise be eligible to win an Emmy® Award, but are worthy of recognition for the quality of their contributions to the Suncoast region."



View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.