Watch CBS News

Three Colorado Air Force Bases Will Change Their Names Next Week

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (CBS4) - Three of the most prominent Air Force Bases in Colorado will go by different names starting Monday morning. The U.S. Air Force will change the names to "better reflect their role" in the newest United States military branch.

SPACE COMMAND Peterson Air Force Base
(credit: CBS)

Peterson Air Force Base, Schriever Air Force Base, and Cheyenne Mountain Air Force Station will now be Space Force bases.

The new names - Peterson Space Force Base, Schriever Space Force Base, and Cheyenne Mountain Space Force Station - will take effect after a name change ceremony Monday morning.

space force video 2
(credit: U.S. Space Force)

General John Raymond, U.S. Space Force Chief of Operations, and Colonel Zachary Warakomski, Peterson-Schriever Garrison Commander, will preside over the ceremony. The bases are home to several Space Deltas and sensitive space-related missions.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.