Watch CBS News

Election Could Come Down To Some Key Colorado Counties

DENVER (CBS4) - Throughout the presidential campaign a lot has been said about Colorado being one of several key battleground states. It turns out the election could all come down to some key counties, including six in Colorado.

The big counties are Arapahoe, Jefferson and Larimer. All three voted for President Barack Obama in 2008. Three smaller counties that may play a vital role if the election is very close are Ouray, Huerfano and Alamosa, which all also voted for Obama in the last election.

In the last four presidential elections Larimer, Arapahoe and Jefferson counties voted Republican, except in 2008 when they handed Obama the win. Colorado has only voted for a Democratic president twice in the last 10 presidential elections.

If the election comes down to less than 20,000 votes separating the two candidates, the three smaller counties will be important. All three have swung between the parties in presidential elections.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.