Watch CBS News

Presidential Medal Of Freedom Recipients Announced

WASHINGTON (CBS) -– The White House on Wednesday announced the recipients of the Presidential Medal Of Freedom, the nation's highest civilian honor.

The prestigious accolade is given to people "who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors."

This year's recipients include famous actors (Robert De Niro, Tom Hanks, Robert Redford) legendary athletes (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Michael Jordan) and television icons (Ellen DeGeneres, Lorne Michaels).

President Barack Obama will honor the recipients (read about them all here) at a White House ceremony on Nov. 22.

The full list of honorees:

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
Elouise Cobell
Ellen DeGeneres
Robert De Niro
Richard Garwin
Bill and Melinda Gates
Frank Gehry
Margaret H. Hamilton
Tom Hanks
Grace Hopper
Michael Jordan
Maya Lin
Lorne Michaels
Newt Minow
Eduardo Padron
Robert Redford
Diana Ross
Vin Scully
Bruce Springsteen
Cicely Tyson

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.