Watch CBS News

The Landry Award

The 2022 Landry Award Ceremony
The 2022 Landry Award Ceremony 23:23

2022 Landry Award Voting 

This year will mark the thirteenth year that the Landry Award is being presented to the top high school football player from North Texas! Previous honors have been awarded to North Texas high school football players who have also grown into professional football superstars! They include Kyler Murray of the Arizona Cardinals and Myles Garrett of the Cleveland Browns. 

What Is The Landry Award?

The Landry Award recognizes the top high school football player (any position, any division, any school within the 32-county viewing area) in North Texas who demonstrates positive character and leadership attributes. The honoree is chosen by a voting panel of former coaches and players, members of the media and local leaders. Online public voting also accounts for one vote in the panel balloting. The program was created in 2010 by CBS 11 and TXA 21 in partnership with the Greater Dallas Fort Worth Fellowship of Christian Athletes.


2021: Josh Hoover, Rockwall-Heath High School
2020: JoJo Earle, Aledo High School
2019: Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Rockwall High School
2018: T.J. McDaniel, Southlake Carroll High School
2017: John Stephen Jones, Highland Park High School
2016: Kennedy Brooks, Mansfield High School
2015: Jett Duffey, Mansfield Lake Ridge High School
2014: Kyler Murray, Allen High School
2013: Myles Garrett, Arlington Martin High School
2012: Jake Oliver, Jesuit
2011: Johnathan Gray, Aledo High School
2010: Johnathan Gray, Aledo High School

The Landry Award was created by CBS 11 and TXA 21 in partnership with the Greater Dallas/Fort Worth Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

The Landry Award Coach Of The Year

The Landry Award also recognizes a Coach of the Year, who exemplifies the Christian values that defined Tom Landry on and off the field. A coach's job is first about teaching life skills and molding young lives. They are shaping young people into the leaders of tomorrow. So many coaches in North Texas donate their time to be more than just a coach to kids. They are father figures, friends and, most of all, role models. They nurture them with unconditional love and turn them into the kind of adults that today's world needs.

The Landry Award Coach of the Year, selected by Greater Dallas Fort Worth FCA leadership and The Landry Award voting panel, is one who encourages leadership, selflessness, maturity, respect and kindness.


2021: Kirk Martin, Colleyville Heritage High School
2020: Dave Henigan of Denton Ryan High School
2019: Riley Dodge, Southlake Carroll High School
2018: Jason Tucker, Haltom High School
2017: Mike DeWitt, Coppell High School
2016: Brian Brazil, Hebron High School
2015: Randy Jackson, Grapevine High School
2014: Randy Allen, Highland Park High School
2013: Joe McBride, Coppell High School

Tom Landry: 1924-2000

One of the greatest icons of the game began his football legacy in Mission, Texas. As quarterback, Landry led his high school team to a 12-0 season in his senior year. After returning from duty as a bomber pilot, he attended the University of Texas. After graduating from Texas, Landry played professionally for the All-America Football Conference's New York Yankees, and later the New York Giants. He played five years as a pro.

Landry started coaching as an assistant with the Giants while he was still playing, and later became a full-time assistant coach with the team. Of course, he is best known as the first head coach of the Dallas Cowboys, a position he held for 29 seasons, including a record 20 consecutive winning seasons. During this time, Landry coached America's Team to five Super Bowl appearances, winning twice. He won 270 games, the third-most in NFL history. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1990.

Beyond the Xs and Os, Landry was known as a man of strong faith. He was an active supporter and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Greater Dallas Fellowship of Christian Athletes for 30 years, and he encouraged his players to demonstrate leadership on and off the field.

The Landry Award: Rules

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.