Watch CBS News

Lucasfilm Announce Official Star Wars VII Cast

Click for larger image (credit: Lucasfilm)

(CBS SF) - SAN FRANCISCO (CBS SF) - It's official. Walt Disney Pictures and San Francisco-based Lucasfilm have finally announced the cast of the new Star Wars Episode VII.

The long awaited announcement includes original trilogy actors Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker. Joining them will be Max von Sydow, Andy Serkis, John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver and Oscar Isaac.

"We are so excited to finally share the cast of 'Star Wars: Episode VII.' It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again." Director J.J. Abrams announced. "We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud."

Abrams and screenwriter Lawrence Kasdan has penned the new story line. Lucasfilm President, Kathleen Kennedy, Abrams and Bryan Burk will produce.

The film is scheduled for worldwide release on December 18, 2015.

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.