Watch CBS News

Jeremy Maclin Named Eagles 2014 Ed Block Courage Award Winner

PHILADELPHIA (CBS) --- The Philadelphia Eagles have announced wide receiver Jeremy Maclin as the team's 2014 Ed Block Courage Award winner. Maclin was selected in a vote of his teammates based on team effort as well as individual performance.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named after Ed Block, a long-time head trainer for the Baltimore Colts and a respected humanitarian dedicated to helping children. Recipients are often players who have overcome devastating injuries or tragedies in their personal lives to return to top-level competition in the NFL.

Following an ACL tear early in the 2013 training camp, Maclin spent the year rehabbing the injury in order to prepare for a return in 2014. A first-round draft pick by the Eagles in 2009, Maclin appeared in 61 games with 59 starts prior to the ACL injury and had led the Eagles in receptions in 2011 and 2012.

Through the Eagles' first seven games in 2014, Maclin leads the squad in all major receiving categories, totaling 39 catches for 632 yards (16.2 ypc) with six touchdowns. His average of 16.2 yards per catch is the seventh-highest total in the league among players with at least 25 receptions. Last week, Maclin set a career high with 187 receiving yards and two touchdowns at Arizona (10/26).

Maclin, along with one player from each of the other 31 NFL teams, will be honored at the Ed Block Courage Award Banquet in the 2015 offseason.


You may also be interested in these Sports stories:

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.